What are your 24 character strengths?

You have 24 character strengths. We all do. And they’re universal across all cultures and nations. That’s according to researchers at the VIA Institute, a nonprofit that bridges the gap between science and the practice of character strengths. 

You, me, and everyone on the planet possess signature strengths (your top 5) that are at the core of your inner being. They come naturally to you; they’re energizing, and you don’t have to think about them daily. 

Your character strengths are the essence of who you truly are at your core. Unlike the talents and skills we may acquire or the interests we develop over time, character strengths are innate, reflecting our deepest values and personal virtues. 

What are your 24 character strengths?

Here are my core strengths! 

My top 5 strengths are:

  • Honesty
  • Curiosity
  • Appreciation of Beauty and Excellence
  • Zest
  • Spirituality 

Take the free survey and discover what your character strengths are! 

If you want to know how your character strengths rank, I encourage you to go online to viacharacter.org and click on “Take the Free Survey.” 

Once you take the survey – it takes about 10 minutes – you get a report ranking all 24 strengths with definitions of each. 

Let me know if you take the survey!

Understanding your core strengths can help you improve your overall well-being at home, in relationships, and even professionally! 

Research shows that using a signature strength in a new way can increase your happiness and even decrease depression.

Knowing your character strengths helps you better understand yourself. 

Studies also show that character strengths can be used to help build better relationships, boost your confidence, reduce stress, and achieve your life goals.

Using your core strengths at work has been shown to help you enhance your work experience and have stronger positive emotions toward what you do. 

What are the 24 character strengths? 

  1. Honesty

Being honest encompasses more than simply telling the truth; it involves acting authentically and with integrity. This principle requires individuals to own up to their emotions and behaviors.

  1. Curiosity

Curiosity is characterized by a desire to learn, explore, and immerse oneself in new experiences, maintaining an openness to what is unfamiliar or different.

  1. Appreciation of Beauty and Excellence

This quality involves recognizing and valuing beauty, outstanding skills, and virtuous actions in the world around us.

  1. Zest

Zest signifies feeling energetic and full of life. It is about engaging enthusiastically in various aspects of life, such as work, education, relationships, and leisure activities, without reservation.

  1. Spirituality

Spirituality relates to having meaningful beliefs about the greater purpose of life and the universe. It includes understanding one’s place in the world and holding beliefs that guide behavior and offer solace.

  1. Creativity

Creativity involves generating new and useful ideas for solving problems or addressing tasks, highlighting the practical application of these innovations.

  1. Love of Learning

This trait is about acquiring new skills, knowledge, and understanding, either independently or through formal education and training.

  1. Gratitude

Gratitude is the practice of recognizing and being thankful for the positive aspects of life, as well as expressing this thankfulness to others.

  1. Fairness

Fairness is the commitment to impartiality and justice, ensuring that personal biases do not interfere with the fair treatment of others.

  1. Humility

Humility is the quality of not considering oneself superior to others, allowing one’s accomplishments to speak for themselves without seeking excessive attention.

  1. Social Intelligence

Social intelligence is the awareness of both one’s own and others’ feelings and motivations, facilitating effective navigation through diverse social scenarios.

  1. Love

Love is valuing close connections with others, especially those relationships characterized by mutual care and support.


  1. Perseverance

Perseverance is the commitment to completing tasks despite difficulties, taking pleasure in achieving goals, and finishing projects.

  1. Hope

Hope involves looking forward to the future with optimism and the expectation of positive outcomes.

  1. Teamwork

Teamwork is the ability to effectively collaborate with others, contributing diligently towards achieving collective objectives.

  1. Kindness

Kindness entails performing acts of generosity and compassion toward others and demonstrating care and support.

  1. Judgment

Judgment involves evaluating situations from multiple perspectives and being open to revising opinions based on new evidence.

  1. Forgiveness

Forgiveness is offering understanding to those who have caused harm and releasing feelings of bitterness and resentment.

  1. Perspective

Perspective is offering sound advice and maintaining viewpoints that are insightful and comprehensible to oneself and others.

  1. Self-Regulation

Self-regulation deals with controlling impulses and emotions and maintaining focus and discipline even in challenging circumstances.

  1. Bravery

Bravery is confronting adversity and discomfort without backing down, standing firm in one’s beliefs despite opposition.

  1. Humor

Humor involves recognizing and sharing the amusing aspects of situations, often lightening the mood of others through jokes and witty observations.

  1. Prudence

Prudence is the practice of being thoughtful and cautious, avoiding unnecessary risks and actions that might lead to regret.

  1. Leadership

Leadership entails the drive to guide others towards common goals, taking the initiative for the benefit of the group.

Subscribe to my newsletter →

Don’t forget to subscribe to our lifestyle and travel show for more stories from around the world of food, fashion, and wellness. Enjoy the journey!


Facebook Comments Box